Some people don’t like competition because it makes them work harder, better. – Drew Carey

I won’t lie.  I learned to be a competitor.  It happened last year just before I started training for my first half marathon.  I had started entering 5Ks after becoming a more avid runner.  I was becomig faster and starting placing in my age division.  The competition was motivating me.

I was shaving seconds off my mile.  Over time, I began to believe I could run 13.1 miles.  It was almost a year ago to the date that I ran 13 miles for the first time.  Once, during my training sessions, I ran 15.

When it came to the real deal, I was going for my personal best, and I was going out big.  I did.  And Now I’m one of those people who has that 13.1 sticker on her car – still basking in the glory of my first half.

4 thoughts on “Some people don’t like competition because it makes them work harder, better. – Drew Carey

  1. I am impressed. For me, I won’t run unless I am being chased, or maybe if I am going to miss the city bus. Otherwise, I walk at my pace to a finish line selected by me. I am always so impressed by runners. What dedication and self motivation it takes to be a runner.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

