New boy in the neighborhood. Lives down stairs… – Timothy Thompson

When we were in college my friend would play the guitar for us.  We’d gather around like he was a celebrity and wait to see what was in store for us.

For one particular song, he would begin like this…

“This is a song about someone special who was really important to me.”

And then sing…

“New boy in the neighborhood
Lives downstairs and it’s understood.
He’s there just to take good care of me,
Like he’s one of the family.

Charles in Charge
Of our days and our nights
Charles in Charge
Of our wrongs and our rights

And I sing, I want,
I want Charles in Charge of me.”

Which, for those of you that don’t know is the Charles in Charge theme and we all thought it was pretty hysterical. Maybe it was the build up.  Maybe it was that we all watched Charles in Charge.  Maybe it was that our friend looked like Scott Baio if you squinted…really hard.

Eventually my friend became one of my roommates and “lived down stairs” from me.  He not only played the guitar, but drank coffee, read, and went on the occasional run.  Occasional.

I remember once we went for a run around the lake where we lived.  It was getting dark and we were probably much slower than we are now.  It couldn’t have been more than 2 or 3 miles.  I remember it being hellish.  I don’t remember going on any other runs.  We weren’t runners then.

But we’re runner now!

And this guy!  This guy.  He’s run multiple marathons.  This month he’s running a marathon to train for another marathon.

We don’t see each other much do to geography but we exchange texts… many of which are about our running.

Yes, we’re runners now!

Him- Had to run 10 on a treadmill today because the weather as not good for long weekend runs. 😦

Me – Ugh.  I ran 3 on a treadmill today.  During lunch.  It’s snowing and I knew I wouldn’t get there [the gym] tonight.  6 so far this week.

2 thoughts on “New boy in the neighborhood. Lives down stairs… – Timothy Thompson

  1. Love this line, “We’d gather around like he was a celebrity and wait to see what was in store for us.” Such a nice snapshot of youth. Perhaps we should all try to recapture some of that ease and fun! So great that you have remained close friends, now running buddies.

    Like

  2. Running a marathon to train for another marathon? I’m going to have to say that I don’t think I have that part of my brain. I think I will go have another piece of pizza.

    Like

Leave a Reply

