Each day I live I want to be. A day to give the best of me. – Whitney Houston

Isn’t Whitney Houston’s song “One Moment in Time” synonymous with the Olympics and triumph?

Yesterday, after receiving my mail (and my autographed copy of New England Runner), I couldn’t get the song out of my head.  I’d actually asked for the copy.  I’ve been talking one of my friends up for awhile…

“I want one moment in time. When I’m more than I thought I could be.”

Finishing the 2014 Hartford Marathon in 2:17 flat , the cover runner/model is headed to the Olympic trails.  One of only 128 males, according to my last google search.
“When all of my dreams are a heartbeat away.  And the answers are all up to me.”

“Matty’s in here a whole bunch of times,” a direct quote from my husband as I type this as he thumbs through the periodical.  And why shouldn’t he be?  He runs every day… long runs.  Double digit miles.  Before work.  Good weather and bad.  Even on treadmills.  He’s always winning races.
“Give me one moment in time.  When I’m racing with destiny.”

Let me metaphorically refer to Matty as “destiny.” And let me call “racing” a run in the cold of Vermont.  I ran with him.  A whoppping tenth of a mile down a hill.  I raced with destiny.  Pretty cool, if you ask me.
“Then in that one moment of time.  I will feel.  I will feel eternity.”

On the cover, next to his autograph, Matty wrioe: To _____’s Class: You can achieve anything!  Dream Big!

“I’ve lived to be
The very best
I want it all
No time for less
I’ve laid the plans
Now lay the chance
Here in my hands.”

Whether it’s Matty, me, or even you, we all have the chance to be the very best.  We just have to want it, have a plan, and carry it out.

“You’re a winner for a lifetime
If you seize that one moment in time
Make it shine”

5 thoughts on “Each day I live I want to be. A day to give the best of me. – Whitney Houston

  1. I am reading this early Saturday morning when I am decidedly uninspired to do even the next little thing! I am gathering a bit of inspiration to make a plan and carry it out. You never know where a little dream will lead. Thanks for sharing part of Matty’s story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

