“That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a run.” – Forrest Gump

The first time I saw Forrest Gump was back in high school.  Run Forrest, Run… The line became so catchy, I must have heard it shouted thousands of times – in friendly games of Tag, near finish lines, and at Field Day-like events – with “Forrest” being changed to “fill in friend’s name here.”

When I’d rewatch this iconic movie, I just couldn’t ignore the running.  Near the end of his long run scene, just about six “movie” minutes (representing 3 years, 2 months, and 16 hours), Forrest shared some of his mama’s wisdom: “You’ve got to put the past behind you before you can move on.”  And Forrest thought “that’s what [his] running was all about.”

Now, I can’t help but wonder?  What’s my running all about?

I honestly don’t know…  I don’t have a definitive answer.   I better “keep right on running,” just like Forrest Gump.  Maybe I’ll figure it out.

3 thoughts on ““That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a run.” – Forrest Gump

Leave a Reply

