“Dedicate yourself and you gon’ find yourself.” – The Script

6:40PM

I made an executive decision, it’s going to be another night at the gym.  I really didn’t want to be running through puddles.  I really didn’t want to run hills.  I really didn’t want to run in the dark.  I really didn’t want______________.

Just before 7:00 PM

I pull into the gym and I miraculously find parking.  A real parking spot.  I wish I could say the same for the dozens of “illegally” parked “create a spot people.” I hope they don’t hit me when they leave.  I’m pretty sure people are still keeping their New Year’s resolutions.  That’s what the crowded lot tells me.  (That, or everyone’s excited for Zumba).

7:05 PM

Minutes later I’m on the treadmill.  There’s no time to waste.  Better Call Saul is on tonight and I’ve dedicated myself to this series.  OK…7.0… here we go again.

Ear buds are in.  I turn on Rock my Run and read the subtitles for Modern Family.

7:31 ish PM

Just under 26 minutes later… 3 miles down.  TIRED.  I’ll walk.  I’ll run.  Mile 4, a jog if that…

7:45 PM

Time for some weights and abs.  Good times.

8:00 PM

Done… I’m ready to leave.  Mission accomplished.  But then, I spot my friend on my way out…

8:25 PM

Headed home… I’m dedicated.

One thought on ““Dedicate yourself and you gon’ find yourself.” – The Script

Leave a Reply

