“I ran and ran and ran every day, and I acquired this sense of determination, this sense of spirit that I would never, never give up, no matter what else happened.” – Wilma Rudoplh

Do you know who Wilma Rudolph was?  Her “doctor told [her she] would never walk again. [her]  mother told [her she] would. [She] believed [her] mother.”  Her mother was right.  Wilma Rudolph defied the odds.  Through hard work, such as physical therapy and training, she begain one of the greatest runners of all time.  At the Olympics in 1960, she won not one, not two, but three gold medal – the first woman to do so at a single Olympic games. To find out more about this remarkable woman, try reading Wilma Unlimited by Kathleen Krull.

It doesn’t matter what you’re trying to accomplish. It’s all a matter of discipline. I was determined to discover what life held for me beyond the inner-city streets.

Today, I am reflecting what I will be setting out to do over the next few months, in running and beyond.  I’d love to continue to run 20 miles a week.  Like Wilma Rudolph said, I have to be disciplined.  For me, that means I have to have a plan, and I have to have a plan.  Which leads me to…

I ran and ran and ran every day, and I acquired this sense of determination, this sense of spirit that I would never, never give up, no matter what else happened.

This can be a tricky one for me.  I personal feel my body needs a bit of recovery time.  But what resonates with me most.  The words “I acquired this sense of determination, this sense of spirit that I would never, never give up, no matter what else happened.”  Running, and running with goals in mind:  20 miles a week, a 5K, etc.  give me this.  It’s hard to give up when you are supported…

But when you come from a large, wonderful family, there’s always a way to achieve your goals.

My husband is supportive of my running.  He watches the girls so I can go off.  My brother and I ran the same half-marathon.  Someone’s always at the finish line.  There’s a race with a team that supports the memory of my mom’s friend’s son.  She was there at the race when I was a member of the team.  My husband and girls surprised me at the finish last December.  And even if it’s just my husband and I running.  He’s faster than me.  There he is… waiting at the end.

Never underestimate the power of dreams and the influence of the human spirit. We are all the same in this notion: The potential for greatness lives within each of us.

I can do it!  Like Wilma Rudolph also said, “Believe me, the reward is not so great without the struggle.”  “…The only person I’m competing with is me.”

4 thoughts on ““I ran and ran and ran every day, and I acquired this sense of determination, this sense of spirit that I would never, never give up, no matter what else happened.” – Wilma Rudoplh

  1. I love this for so many reasons! First, as a runner, I can relate to your desire to take your running further, and yet the struggle of listening to your body, and knowing when to push through and when to relax. I love Wilma Rudolph as a model of perseverance and determination. And hearing of your circle of support is wonderful! Best wishes!
    I hope you realize that just as Wilma inspired you, your example will send ripples through the people you influence, and the impact will be felt for generations to come. Your own example of determination will alter people’s lives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

