“Hey mom. How was your run?” – my daughter

“Hey mom.  How was your run?”

“Great.  Thanks for asking.”

I’m back home.  I’m out of breath.  I’m sweaty.  (Or… sometimes I’ve just been to the grocery store and I’m in my workout clothes – an illusion.)  When my youngest daughter sees me in my gear, she sees me in running mode.  Sometimes she’ll also say, “You stink!”

“Hey mom.  How was your run?”

“Great.  Thanks for asking.”

It was tough.  There were hills.  I had just finished my first run in our new neighborhood.  It was winter and every stride was new and unexpected.  I barely made it up the final hill home.

“Hey mom.  How was your run?”

“Great.  Thanks for asking.”

It was easy.  I ran slow.  I was really getting back into the game after a winter of hibernating.

“Hey mom.  How was your run?”

“Great.  Thanks for asking.”

It was a challenge.  I pushed myself.  I surpassed my goal.  I ran faster, I ran longer.

“Hey mom.  How was your run?”

“Great.  Thanks for asking.”

I hope you keep asking.  I hope you always ask.

4 thoughts on ““Hey mom. How was your run?” – my daughter

  1. Love this. As someone who started running just a couple years ago, I have such a soft spot for when my kids ask me how my run was. I love being that model for them… Sometimes I say “Ugh. It was awful!” because then they still see me go back out there the next day… It’s hard, but I’m going to do it anyway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

