“I’m walking on sunshine. And it’s starting to feel good, hey.” – Kimberly Rew

Today I discovered speed walking is a general term that people use when describing walking fast.  Who knew?  Additionally, I learned that there are three (that’s right, three) different types of styles and techniques*:

1.  Olympic Style Race-Walking

2.  Power Walking

2.  Fast Walking

First, I’m no Olympian… so number one does not apply to me at all.  Sad face.  Power walking involves a lot of arm motion.  That’s not me.  Oh well.  So… apparently, I am basically a fast walker walker (when I walk), which is what I did today.  No running this morning, just a speedy walk.  2.5 miles at a 13 minute pace.

I tried my hardest to keep good posture and move my arms (but not as much as a power walker – see above).

One foot in front of the other.

One foot in front of the other.

One foot in front of the other.

One foot in front of the other.

“I’m walking on sunshine. And it’s starting to feel good, hey.”

* to find out more, go to http://walking.about.com/od/powerwalking/a/speedwalking.htm

3 thoughts on ““I’m walking on sunshine. And it’s starting to feel good, hey.” – Kimberly Rew

  1. I think you walk nearly as fast as I run! I think my shins would explode if I tried to walk at that pace. Although it is probably better on the knees. I enjoyed the flow of your piece.

    Like

  2. 2.5 miles at a 13 minute pace – you just described my running! Ha! Walking is a great compliment to your running, I think. Good to not overdo. Love the song – though, I now have an ear worm…I’m walking on sunshine, oh yeah…

    Like

  3. We had a friend once who entered lots of walking races. My mom got involved and so we all went to a race. It’s way harder than it looks! Keep walkin’ in that sunshine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

