“Like a bolt out of the blue. Suddenly, it comes to you. When you wish upon a star.” – Disney

My friend wasn’t always a runner.  I remember her telling me the story of how she decided to run.  I believe it may have been her teacher appreciation week a few years ago.  At her school, teachers came in to surprises during that week.  One morning, her room parents had decorated her door… with running shoes.  They had gotten the idea that she was a runner.  She wasn’t.  Not at the time.  She thought to herself, maybe I should be.  It seems everyone thought she was.  Bam… she became one.

She ran in her neighborhood.  She had become a runner.

She ran a bunch of 5Ks including one that ended in pizza and beer.  Mmmmm pizza.  She had become a runner.

She ran after Cross Fit workouts. How she still had the strength, I have no idea.   She had become a runner.

She ran the Hartford half marathon.  This is long before I could even fathom such a challenge.  She had become a runner.

Then, she tried to convince me to run a half marathon.  I was completely opposed.  Just because I had become a runner too, I didn’t mean I was crazy.  (I guess I’m crazy now).  One beautiful spring day, with our husbands and kids at her house, my friend and I ran one of the challenging parts of the half marathon route, which also happened to be in er neighborhood.  It took us up hill and down by the marina.  We felt like we were on vacation rather than being tortured.  It was just so breathtaking.  Our pace was great.  She had become a runner.  And I was catching up to her.

It still took her some time, but eventually I caved.  I signed up for the half marathon.  It was her that convinced me to run that half marathon.  She had become a runner.  I had too.  And she made me a better one and that at.

When we ran that practice route, we had felt like we were on vacation.  Not too long after the half marathon, we met up on vacation.  It was a good thing we had become runners… it takes a runners energy to make it through Disney World – but that’s a whole other story…

She had become a runner.  I had become a runner.  We had become runners.

2 thoughts on ““Like a bolt out of the blue. Suddenly, it comes to you. When you wish upon a star.” – Disney

  1. I love the structure of this! How funny that they got the idea for her and then she became a runner in the end. Good for you guys. I most certainly, am not, a runner. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

