“Look at the stars. Look how they shine for you. And all the things you do.” – Coldplay

Making running mixes is hard.  I have started running out of ideas.  Some of my favorite songs have now been overplayed on my ipod. I have my oldies but goodies, but I am open to suggestions. And there is nothing like a song suggested by a fellow runner.

Yesterday, TBird commented on one of my posts.  She suggested the song Yellow by Coldplay for my uphill runs (and as I’ve mentioned before there are a lot of them).  This song is slow and steady.  Just what I need for an uphill.

I love the lines: “Look at the stars.  Look how they shine for you.  And all the things you do.”  When we think of the stars, for most of us, the first thing that comes to mind is evening.  The first star.  Shooting stars.  Constellations.  Now I’m not a night runner.  I lack coordination during the day.  I doubt I would look good in a headlamp.  There’s overall safety issues if you ask me.

But, what about the sun.

When I run, I need to think of the sun shining for me.  Rooting me on.  My own personal cheerleader.  Telling me… you can do it!  When I’m not running and I can’t see that amazing star, she’s still there – even though I can’t see her rooting for me.  Cheering me on in all the things I do.

But, what about our fellow runners.  Our fellow runners are stars.  Super stars.  Shining in their sport.

When I run, I need to think of my fellow runners and how they shine.  Like the sun, they too are rooting me on, supporting me.  My fellow bloggers commenting on my posts, texts back and forth with my running friends, conversations about our runs…all saying you can do it.  When I’m not running and I can’t see those amazing stars, they still there – even though I can’t see them rooting for me.  Cheering me on in all the things I do.

“Look at the stars.  Look how they shine for you.  And all the things you do.”

One thought on ““Look at the stars. Look how they shine for you. And all the things you do.” – Coldplay

  1. You described well how music enhances your running – that is cool! This line made me laugh, “I doubt I would look good in a headlamp.” Wish I had some good song suggestions to offer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

