“Different strokes for different folks.” – said by many

I know this may come as a shocker, but not ever one loves to run.  At the gym, there is a girl I see every now and then that sports a shirt that says “I hate running.”  I’ve never seen her on the treadmill.  I’m guessing the shirt is probably not ironic.

Have you ever seen or heard these words?

If you see me running, you should run too.  Something is probably chasing me.

“The only reason I would take up jogging is so that I could hear heavy breathing again.”
– Erma Bombeck

“I go running when I have to. When the ice cream truck is doing sixty.”
– Wendy Liebman

Running is not for everyone, and that’s OK.  A majority of my friends, in fact, don’t run.  I have a small circle of friends that do.  The ones that don’t either don’t work out at all, walk, ride the bike, or find another way to stay fit.    My parents are incredibly active.  They hit at least 10,000 steps a day.  But no running for them.

Running is a way, but it’s not the only way.  It’s my way.  It might be yours.  It might not be.

2 thoughts on ““Different strokes for different folks.” – said by many

  1. Cute post! I am also a runner, but most people think we are nuts! There are some very unique things that can be claimed by runners only. Your last line is perfect! It just shows how open you are to other options. Happy trails!

    Like

  2. Sounds like your parents have a Fitbit or some such – my husband and I strive for 10,000 steps, too. Sometimes we jog to get those, mostly it is walking. It’s all good! We all need to be active!

    Like

Leave a Reply

