“I missed a million miles of fun.” – Marc Francis Costanzo and Gregg Diamond from the song “Steal My Sunshine”

Confession.  I haven’t run in days.  I think of all the miles I’ve missed.  All those miles of fun.  All those of hours of getting lost in my thoughts.  All those miles of pounding the pavement.  All those loads of laundry.

But today.  I have to run.  I must run.  There is no way I can say no to running.  It’s 40 degrees.  I’d be a fool not to lace up and hit the road.

One daughter at is after school at Daisy’s and the other is still at preschool.  I have exactly 39 minutes to run.  I find my ear buds, turn on both Run Keeper and Rock My Run and I’m off.  You.  It’s the perfect amount of time to run four miles.

And I’m off.  Down to the bottom of my street and on the main road.  It’s clear… I’ll be facing some puddles on the main road on my return.  Grrr.  I’m going to have to find a way to avoid them.  I hate wet shoes.  It doesn’t matter the temperature.  It doesn’t matter the day.  Wet shoes… not for me.

I turn the corner on to a side street.  I’m already out of breath.  That’s what I get for taking a few days off. The street is sparkling with sand.  A run along side it.  I hate getting sand in my shoes as much as I hate wet feet.  A car has yet to pass me by.  I haven’t had to wave or nod yet.  Oh.  I spoke to soon.  There’s a truck.  Quick wave.  And…. there it is.  Half a mile… done.

Yippee.  Time to go uphill.  Here I go… Run Keeper informs me my pace is around 9:30.  Yup, I’m pretty slow.  Will I make it home in time?  Thank goodness some fast pace songs are kicking in.  I definitely picked the right mix today.  Jackson Five and other classics.

I think I can.  I think I can.  I know I can.  I know I can.  I’m still going up hill.  Have I hit a mile yet?

And I’m there.  One mile.  So close to a 10 minute pace.  Yuck.  All I can think is another mile and I can turn around.  Gosh.  Am I really this lazy today?  Think positive.  The sun is on my face.  It feels so good.  Even though I’m sweaty, I’m warm.  This sure beats the winter runs.  Go.  Go.  Go.

I’m still going uphill.  It’s an uphill battle.  I really miss my flat trail runs.  But I don’t miss the treadmill.  Not for a second. And a mile and a half.  Done.

OK. It’s about another half mile uphill.  Oh forget about it.  I’m turning around.  I know I shouldn’t give up.  OK I’m not really giving up.   I’ll just wait and run up the hill on the side street off my road.

Down and down and down I go.  Well this is a lot easier.

And finally… it is the last mile.  Thank goodness.  I’m jumped by a dog.  Really?  The owner finally catches him.  Uh oh.  Time to face those puddles.

Up and down my street I go.  Time’s running out.  I’ve got to get to Daisy’s.  I hit the driveway.  I still have a tenth of a mile left.  Up and down the driveway.

Done!  And with 3 minutes to spare.

Time to get the girls.

One thought on ““I missed a million miles of fun.” – Marc Francis Costanzo and Gregg Diamond from the song “Steal My Sunshine”

Leave a Reply

