“I’m Bored…Hey, A Potato.” – Michael Ian Black

A comedian on the Sail Across the Sun cruise.

An actor on Ed.

Commentary provider on VH1’s I Love the 90’s and more.

Author of I’m Bored and other rereadable books.

Blogger and runner as evident in his post: I Do Run Run Run, I Do Run Run.

Who is this Jack of all trades?  None other than Michael Ian Black.

He is one of the coolest guys I don’t know (personally).

Unfortunately, I can no longer access the complete post. 😦  However, if you go to http://www.goodreads.com/author_blog_posts/4920088-i-do-run-run-run-i-do-run-run, you can access these words:

The fact that I run is a source of mild embarrassment to me. It’s not the kind of thing I go around telling people because there’s something a little showoffy about distance running, even if you are as unaccomplished and…

I want to tell him… don’t be embarrassed.  Distance running can be perceived as a bit showoffy, as you say.  You are spot on!  I mean that’s why they give out finisher medals for long races and sell merchandise for many popular marathons, right? Jimmy Fallon even said, “How do you know if someone ran a marathon?  Don’t worry, they’ll tell you.”   And, of course, I have my half marathon magnet still affixed to my car, and it’s been close to a year since I’ve run that far. Plus, any time I finish a run, typically greater than five miles (longest 15), I’ve posted the details on Facebooks – time and distance.  Is that showoffy?  Maybe.  OK.  It is.

Michael Ian Black.  And to every reader of this blog.  Every runner is accomplished.  If you do run, run, run.  If you do run, run.  Then I say you’ve done it!  Feel free to show it off.  I do!  I mean… I’m writing about it for 31+ days, aren’t I.

4 thoughts on ““I’m Bored…Hey, A Potato.” – Michael Ian Black

  1. I’m Bored is one of my FAVORITE children’s books. I have read it to my class for the past two years and even bring in a potato. One of my students wrote a sequel, we sent it to Michael Ian Black, and he wrote back. He also writes books for adults.

    Like

Leave a Reply

